So I get home, a bit tired after a long but fruitful day at mlab. As I lay on my bed attempting to rest my little bro, Malwandla comes up to me all excited and ready to show me something. In his hands he has a brown box and a v9 battery. Then he switches off the lights in my room to make it all dark. Now at this moment I’m getting all irritated because all I want to do is lay back, rest and catch up on tweets n emails

image

Then there was light…

Light started penetrating the open corners of the box that he was holding. He had just magically won my full attention. He had just created his on light/box lamp through the use one wires,musking tape,  a switch, a 9v battery and some small light bulbs….and it worked

image

I know to some this might not be a biggie but it’s actually a huge step for him. He is still just 14 yet built something like this. When I asked him why he decided to build this his reply was “I was cleaning then got bored so decided to build it”. Now imagine what more he can do when not bored and has access to more resources

He says he wants to play with wires and batteries and his dream is to be a mechanical engineer. He might still be very young but pretty much on the right track.

I spend so much time finding gems in other students country wide but I think I just found a gem in the same house I call home. I can’t wait to expose him to the world of tech & engineering. The fina decision on choosing a career field will be his.

When not playing playstation with his friends or playing games on pc he spends time watching tv, drawing & reading. Popular Mechanics seems to be his favourite magazine

image

It might not be code or pc stuff but its fair to say that my boy just got GEEKULCHAD

image

